Established by Nathan Jenkins in 2012, DEEK Recordings (named after a Scottish variant of Derek) was originally formed as an outlet to release his own material under the Bullion moniker. After an initial release Nathan’s friends and co-conspirators Laura Groves and Timmaz Zolleyn entered the fray, and a new spirit of collaboration was born. The result of this, the esoteric pop music of Nautic, came to define the trademark DEEK sound – ‘Pop, not slop’.

Over the following years a rich seam of singers and players joined DEEK to record at Nathan’s home studio and perform in various formations at intimate nights, predominantly at Servant Jazz Quarters in Dalston. Laura Groves enchanted fans with her beautiful solo EPs, Jesse Hackett sparred with Nathan as BLLUDD RELATIONS, Guy Gormley & Sam Bardsley delivered forlorn pop music as NEVER and Thool took a more worldly dance approach with backed by a medieval and ritualistic live show, dancers et al. Nathan himself released debut album Loop The Loop via DEEK in February 2016 with appearances from Sampha, Shabaka Hutchings, Tom Skinner and violinist Raven Bush.

A series of covers compilations has become an annual affair for DEEK. Nathan asks various artists to take on their favourite songs. ‘Pun For Cover’ & ‘Extraordinary Renditions’ saw contributions from label regulars alongside Nilufer Yanya, Tapes and Gwilym Gold getting the nod from his idol D’angelo for his version of ‘The Root’. 3rd in the series, ‘Covered In Gloria’ (Sept 2017) went even closer to the mainstream bone with Oasis, Julio Iglesias and Kim Wilde all getting the treatment. Suzanne Kraft, Sean Nicholas Savage, Kero Kero Bonito and Eyedress were among the latest artists to join in.